top of page

What's like to run The Saddle Club Website?

Updated: Feb 15, 2021


Did you ever wonder what's like to running The Saddle Club Website? Keep reading to find out.


It may look like it's easy and fast to run the website ; yes the design is far from pretty, it look messy and kind of ugly, but the work behind this ugly mess is huge.


Let's go back to spring to summer 2018 : the pre-website. I wanted to do a website about The Saddle Club, where I could regroup all Saddle Club information, pictures in categories and everything I couldn't post on my Instagram page (@saddlesclub). Finding a good platform has been hard and long, I had to try different ones, always doing the same work all over again. I needed a free platform, I can't afford paying 10 to 20 dollars a month just for a website.


When I finally found one, the real work started there. I had a notebook by my side everyday, writing down the categories I wanted to have, doing re-searches to be sure what I was putting was true (mostly about biographies), I even keeping working on my notebook when I went on vacation, everyday I tried to work on it for minimum 15 minutes.


I wanted to make my website live when I had all the main categories. I knew the work would not be done yet, that with the "news" category, the pictures I could find somewhere on the internet, I will have to work weekly on it. It's like a non-paid job I have seriously.


Wix is a very slowing platform, meaning that it causes a lot of slowdowns to your computer (because you cannot manage your wix website via your phone, no, no, impossible, Wix does not has a feature for it yet. Meaning that for something that should last me for about 1 hour, I can stay to do it for 2 and a half hours because of the slowdowns of the site. It's my daily routine.


Spending at first about 10 hours a week, looking for pictures to put it, having to know what they were for (what live, what photoshoot, when...) by finding information, other pictures ...

Having to re-organize pictures every time I realized that this photo would, in fact, go to another album, because it was not for the same photoshoot... (keep every time in mind that the wix platform slows down, mostly when editing the gallery section bceause of all the pictures it contains.


Managing The Saddle Club Website is also finding new categories to add time to time, re-organize the ones you already have, wanted to do more of them. Spending hours of design, collages, realizing that the picture with text you put is too small so you have to do it all over again. Literally when I did the girls favourite section, I thought I'll be done by half an hour, instead I took two hours to do it, and I'm not even satisfied with the design tho.


The song section was also one of the worst to edit. First, all the songs weren't even online, I had to look for hours and hours (maybe 20 hours), to find them, and some still were missing. I had to buy the cds (which cost me btw about 220 dollars)... Before owning the CDs, I took the references of tracklist on Spotify, Amazon... WHAT A MISTAKE TO DO! The tracklist were totally wrong and when I found this out, I had to re-start all over again (it took me about 15/20 hours to do it all over again...)


The news section has to be uploaded quite often, I still have to manage my Instagram account and YouTube Channel, and don't forget that English isn't my fluent language, so I try to make not that much mistakes (but I know I do I'm so sorry);


To sum-up this up, managing The Saddle Club Website is a lot of work, weekly, sometimes I don't have time. You constantly have to follow the crew on Instagram to see if they did not post anything Saddle Club related, keeping looking everywhere on Internet to find it's Saddle Club treasures, being creative while spending hours on programs such as Photoshop to create wallpapers, puzzles, calendars...


I spend about 2 hours weekly (when I really can't giving time to my website), to 15 hours sometimes, managing it.

There's probably a lot more I didn't tell you, but I don't want to annoy you more longer, maybe you were planning watching some Saddle Club episodes! But I just wanted to let you know how it is really like to manage this website. It's a long and sometimes annoying, tiring process, but despite everything, I'm happy to do it :)

Have a good day.

0 comments

留言


bottom of page